Faculty Notes

Spring 2020

Rigoberto Advincula

Rigoberto “Gobet” Advincula (CBE) has been named the newest UT-ORNL Governor’s Chair, the 15th active faculty member in the program. Advincula is an expert in polymers and materials science, particularly nanostructured materials, and is the ninth Governor’s Chair to hold an appointment involving advanced materials, highlighting its importance to both UT and ORNL.

Richard Bennett

Jerry E. Stoneking engage Engineering Fundamentals Program Director and Professor Richard Bennett (CEE) was honored with the Industry Champion Award by the National Concrete Masonry Association. The award recognizes individuals who make significant contributions in roles beyond what can be accomplished by the association alone. Bennett was nominated by ten different individuals across the industry in recognition of his career and the work he’s put forward to advancing concrete masonry design and construction.

Jack Dongarra

Distinguished Professor Jack Dongarra (EECS) was given the 2020 Computer Pioneer Award by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Computer Society for his “significant contributions to early concepts and developments in the electronic computer field, which have clearly advanced the state-of-the-art in computing.” Specifically, the society singled out Dongarra’s work in high-performance computing software.

Joshua Fu

John D. Tickle Professor Joshua Fu (CEE) was invited to be a member of the Scientific Leadership Team at the World Meteorological Organization meeting in Geneva, Switzerland. The group helps support international science and policy stakeholders in the areas of food production and agriculture, food security, climate change, biodiversity, ecosystem health, human health, atmospheric research, and materials research.

Wes Hines

The American Nuclear Society chose Department of Nuclear Engineering Head, Postelle Professor, and Chancellor’s Professor Wes Hines as its inaugural H.M. Hashemian Mid-Career Award winner in recognition of his sustained significant contributions during the first 15–25 years of his career. The award is named for “Hash” Hashemian, a UT alum and an internationally recognized expert in nuclear instrumentation and controls.

David Mandrus

For the third consecutive year, Jerry and Kay Henry Endowed Professor David Mandrus (MSE) has been named in the Highly Cited Researchers list compiled by the Web of Science Group. The highly cited researchers list identifies scientists who produced multiple papers ranking in the top one percent by citations for their field and year of publication, demonstrating significant research influence among their peers.

Nicole McFarlane

Nicole McFarlane (EECS) was chosen as the first faculty member to hold the Tickle College of Engineering ADVANCE Professorship, which was created to allow candidates to have personal interaction with someone during their application process to answer questions about topics such as campus climate; leave policies and benefits; or issues surrounding inclusivity, religion, or family matters.

Wes Hines    Kivanc Ekici

Condra Chair of Excellence and MABE Department Head Matthew Mench assumed the role of interim vice chancellor for research and engagement. MABE Associate Department Head Kivanc Ekici, stepped up to serve as the department’s interim head in Mench’s temporary absence.

Lynne Parker

The White House named Professor Lynne Parker (EECS) as one of two deputy US chief technology officers in the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy, where she has served as assistant director for artificial intelligence since 2018. In addition to AI, she’ll help guide policies and efforts related to the industries of the future, which include quantum information science, advanced communications, advanced manufacturing, and the bioeconomy.

Art Ragauskas

The American Institute of Chemical Engineers named UT-ORNL Governor’s Chair for Biorefining Arthur Ragauskas (CBE) as its Andrew Chase Division Award Recipient in Chemical Engineering. The award recognizes discoveries, contributions, service, and academic contributions to forest products and industry technologies.

Past Faculty Notes

Fall 2019

Power your creative ideas with pixel-perfect design and cutting-edge technology. Create your beautiful website with Zeen now.